What’s in a Name?

roseHi, how is everyone doing out in blog-ville? Life has been fairly busy over on this end. Let’s catch up, shall we?

I’m happy to report that I finished the first draft of my book back in mid-November, November 14th, 2014, to be exact. I participated in NaNoWriMo once again this year, and it gave me the final oomph I needed to get over the finish line. It was such an amazing feeling!

However, the next morning, I found myself looking around and thinking…uh, guys? Now what? I realized that I needed to get it edited, so started researching how to edit and how to find an editor. Most of what I found suggested that I set the first draft aside for anywhere from a couple of weeks to a month before I start taking a second look at it. This actually worked out great since Terry and I were planning a trip for the holidays.

Terry and I went on a cross-country road trip back to Seattle to visit his family, friends, and then headed down to Oregon to visit with my brother, sister-in-law, and little nephew. (It’s amazing how big he’s gotten! Seems like just yesterday I was blogging about him being born.)

It was a wonderful way to spend the holiday season. Coincidentally, it also happened to be our tenth wedding anniversary. You know you have to still be head over heels for someone if you voluntarily decide to get stuck in a car with them for over 3,000 miles!

After I got back, I felt a bit at odds with how to take the next step. It wasn’t just a matter of needing to get back into the swing of things, either. If I could have come back and sat a keyboard, it probably would have been easier. But, finding an editor? Figuring out what to do? That was a bit more challenging.

Luckily, I sucked it up and found three editors and sent off samples to them. After much deliberation, I’ve managed to find someone that I can work really well with.

All of which, leads me to now. February 1st. Can you believe it’s almost been a year since I’ve started this journey? I gave myself until April to get my first book written and published, and the time just seems to be streaming through my fingertips. I’ve started looking down the road to the next steps of formatting, and finding a cover artist…

not to mention marketing! And networking!

Ahh, marketing. I’ve heard a lot of horror stories from self-published authors about that. As a reader, I can say I’m VERY AVERSE to being “sold” to. Haven’t we all seen “that one guy” that likes to spam his title over and over again day in and day out? Yeah, that’s not going to be me. However, I do think there are some things that I can do that will better reflect who I am and what I’m about.

Then I started thinking about this little blog. “Janyaa’s Scrapbook.” Not a great name. I have to admit, I kind of cringe every time I come to this site. Have you ever noticed in the URL it kind of looks like “Janyaa’s Crap Book?”

Um, not exactly the kind of branding I’m looking for. Especially as an author just starting out. Besides, Janyaa is my internet name that I prefer to use in order to stay anonymous. However, if I’m going to be an author, the last thing I want to be is “anonymous.”

That train of thought, lead me to another train of thought. Should I publish under my real name, or use a pen name? Either path seems fairly well worn. It’s certainly not uncommon that an author would choose to publish under a pen name. There are benefits, not least of which is it helps you keep a bit of privacy and as a female, it’s safer.

Yet, there’s also a draw to publishing under my real name and just taking ownership of my work. Being able to point to it and say, “That’s me!”

This is a debate that I’ve been struggling with for most of this past year. For awhile, I was about 50/50 on the matter. However, about three months ago, I started really leaning towards just going for it and publishing under my real name. It’s taken a lot of courage to quit my job and pursue my dreams. I don’t want to start wimping out now. Additionally, I feel there’s more pressure to set the bar high if I’m going to have my work under my real name.

All of which brings me to the point of this post. I’ve decided I’m going to set up a new official Author Blog under my real name and start trying to write about the processes and books over there. I won’t be taking this blog down, exactly, but it will probably stay fairly inactive as I make the transition over. Once the other site gets established, I’ll be sure to post the new address here for anybody interested in following me.

If you’re a reader that won’t be coming with me, no hard feelings! I appreciate that you thought highly enough of a post or two I’ve written in the past to sign up and get updates from me at all. If you do plan on making the transition with me, it will be great to see you! I’ll be sure to give you all a heads up once I get the website looking a bit more decent.

2 comments on “What’s in a Name?

  1. Wow. It does look like Janyaa’s Crap Book. Never noticed before. 🙂 That’s wonderful that your first draft is done. What amazing progress! You should really be proud. AND you were in my neck of the woods! I’ll totally follow you over to your new blog. Sounds like a really good plan to set up some new branding for yourself. I’ve really been wanting to change my blog name, but I just haven’t been blogging much these days. I have some ideas of what I would like to blog about, but I just have been too lazy to do it. Maybe once I see your new blog, I’ll get inspired. 😉

    Hugs from Seattle!

    ~ Bethany

Leave a Reply

