Spring Tease

Stealing from the shadows;
        through my garden, she sneaks.
                       Fleeing from the hollows,
dewy breath on my cheek.

She teases and she flirts,
         shows an ankle,
                       lifts her skirt;
then twirls away again.

Persistent chills still linger,
         causing little shivers.
                      Budding nubs fill slender fingers.
Fragile petals spread and quiver.

She hesitates; restlessly rustling,
          shy maiden...capitulates,
                      swaying (and blushing)
towards the sun.


SpringTease

I didn’t realize this, but apparently, April is National Poetry Month. I guess it’s been an official “thing” since 1996 when it was inaugurated by the Academy of American Poets. (Learn something new every day…)

The Daily Post’s Weekly Writing Challenge has charged us with becoming more familiar with the WordPress editing tools and to write a poem applying our newly acquired knowledge.

Back when I was an angsty, awkward teenager, I used to like writing poetry. However, I haven’t tried my hand at writing poems very often as an adult (unless you count my Poem of an Unfortunate Raccoon…) So, this post was a challenge in more ways than one!

19 comments on “Spring Tease

  1. Shreyank says:

    Nicely done πŸ™‚

  2. huge says:

    Blimey – you should keep the poetry up! This is wonderful. The visuals are really strong and it captures exactly what the spring is doing here. Showing us an ankle and then leaving us with the snow and cold easterly wind…

    • Janyaa says:

      Thanks! Yeah, she’s been a real tease over here. Getting our hopes up with mid-sixty degree weather and then hitting us over the head with low thirties the next day. I’m ready for the nice days to stay!

  3. Angela says:

    This is lovely! You should write more – if there’s poetry in your soul… set it free πŸ™‚

    • Janyaa says:

      Thank you for the lovely comment. I don’t often get struck by the poetry stick, but every once in awhile something will sneak into my brain and linger until I let it out. It tends to be very random, with no rhyme or reason.The raccoon poem I linked above is one of those occasions.

  4. rorykirkwood says:

    This is actually lovely poetry. Playful language, creates a scene, just really nice. Everything about poetry worth liking and none of the nonsense I was critiquing in my entry.

  5. rorykirkwood says:

    I still don’t entirely get the use of space, in any poem or written item for that matter, but it doesn’t bother me when the actual writing is good. And this is good writing.

    • Janyaa says:

      Well, I can’t speak for others, but I can explain my thought process for the spaces I used.

      The lines in each stanza slowly creep out, little by little, but then retreat back to the original position again. Similar to the way Spring will slowly emerge, get our hopes up, and then pull back.

      • rorykirkwood says:

        Aaah, ok. Well that makes sense, and I daresay on second reading, with that in mind, it does lend an extra dimension. Poetry clearly isn’t my comfort zone, and I’m a traditionalist in most regards, so I doubt I’ll be going far with the technique but perhaps I’ll be less skeptical in the future!

  6. didiita says:

    lovely! just lovely!
    I couldn’t just read it, I had to sing it πŸ™‚

  7. […] Spring Tease (janyaascrapbook.wordpress.com) […]

  8. Lovely poem! I too used to write poems when I was an angsty youth. Looking back on them, I don’t think they were ever very good! Haha! Oh, you changed your background color too! I think it looks really stunning with the black and white photo at top. It adds color but really highlights the grays in the sky.

    • Janyaa says:

      You know, I should go through my old journals and see if I can find any to post up here. I bet that would be a pretty good laugh!

      Thanks for noticing the blog changes. I thought the lavender looked good with the gray, too. (That’s actually the exact reason why I picked it.) I’ve been fooling around with some of the widgets on the right column, as well. Your redesign inspired me !

  9. Judy Smith says:

    Nice — I hope you’ll slip back into writing poetry again. And thank you so much for following my blog — true appreciation for that.

Leave a Reply

