A Lifelong Friend

R and I have been friends for about fourteen years now. When we first met, we were in our early twenties. Young, vivacious and with the whole world at our feet. We were ravers at the time and used to run into each other at the various parties in and around Seattle. After seeing each other a couple of weekends in a row, she finally came up to me and introduced herself officially.

Sometimes you meet a person you feel like you’ve known your whole life. There’s just an instant recognition that you’ve found someone you just KNOW will become a good friend. That’s how it was for me when I first met R.

Next thing you know we were becoming roommates and classmates. We started working the lunch shift waiting tables at the same restaurant and became co-workers. We used to rock our phat pants and little button downs and sing “Time to raise up! Looking for the butter! Turn around girl, show me where it’s at!” while scooping out the butter cups for our side work. (Don’t know what I’m referring to? Go HERE.)

We knew every doorman, bartender, DJ and club producer to keep us out and about 4 or 5 nights a week in Seattle all throughout our twenties. Life was sparkly and blessed.

As we’ve grown older, we’ve settled down, moved, gotten married and now she has a little baby girl. We’ve convinced ourselves we’re more mature. For the most part, it’s true.

But, isn’t it nice to know someone is out there that remembers you as you were? Is the keeper of those memories and can sometimes convince you it’s a good idea to throw caution to the wind and go skinny dipping?

Everybody should have a friend like that in their life. I know I’m lucky I do!

vancouver_017

This photo was taken in Vancouver during my bachelorette weekend. I have no idea what was going on at the time and didn’t even realize it was being taken. Judging by the fact we are wearing our jackets, I can only safely say it was probably on our walk back to the hotel room after a night of dancing, drinking and overall rabble rousing. What more could you ask for?

I got the idea to write this post over at ngnrdgrl. She wrote a post about her fiancee and his son called, “2,300 Miles to Happiness,” as a part of the weekly writing challenge at The Daily Post. (Yes, the challenge was from a couple of days ago. But, you know, I have to keep with my “always running late” time-frame.)

If you haven’t checked her blog out, I highly recommend it! She has a great perspective on life, a DIY and jewelry series and is MUCH better at posting on a regular basis than I am.

2 comments on “A Lifelong Friend

  1. ngnrdgrl says:

    Awww! You guys look so smiley! I really liked this challenge. It was the first one I participated in and I just immediately knew which picture I wanted to share. Thanks so much for linking to my post! You made me smile for real! So glad you are back in the blogosphere! Hugs!!!

    • Janyaa says:

      I’m always happy to link to you! This is the first one I’ve participated in, too. But, I started following that blog, so maybe I’ll do more when I’m running dry for ideas. Thanks for the welcome back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

