De-Tox

Hello…

Is anybody still out there?

I realize I’ve been gone for a couple of months. I wish I could say there’s a good reason for my absence, but there really isn’t.

After the all the energy leading up to the election, I just felt like I wanted to take a break from everything. Since we were getting into the holidays, it seemed like the timing was perfect for taking an internet vacation.

No Facebook, no blogging, I didn’t even haunt the sites that I usually follow. Basically, I read a lot, spent time with family and caught up on my Netflix queue.

Hopefully everybody’s holidays went well. I hosted eight people for Thanksgiving this past year. Terry cooked an amazing meal and we had some new guests over to the house, which made for a very pleasant day of good conversation, drinking copious amounts of red wine and eating entirely too much food.

My mom came to visit the States for her holiday break from Beijing. She split her time between my brother’s family in Portland, Oregon and my sister and I here in New England. Although it was a shorter visit than her summer-time jaunts, it was still a wonderful, warm time.

It’s funny when you take a break like I’ve done. You start to wonder if anybody actually misses your voice or thoughts. Whether what you’ve been putting out there is worth anything to anybody else. So, it was very reassuring to get a note from one of my friends checking in with me. Sometimes, it’s nice to be reminded that there’s someone who notices your absence.

I’ll admit that I’ve been feeling a bit restless since the New Year. I’m not one to make annual resolutions, but I feel like there are things that I should probably get working on. I’m 35 years old now. Will there be any other time to start these these things that I’ve had rolling around in my mind? How do I even take those first steps and how do I get over the feeling that it’s all too late before it’s even begun?

So, maybe you could say that I’ve been taking a break to try and get my thoughts in order. I go through these phases once in awhile where I just stop everything and try to assess what my situation is. Too often, I find myself taking one foot in front of the other, day in and day out…and forget to look up and see where the path is taking me.

Well I’m back on the trail and ready to keep walking. Let’s see where it takes us this year, shall we?

10 comments on “De-Tox

  1. ngnrdgrl says:

    Welcome back! I’ve missed you! It sounds like a good time away. Red wine, Netflix and family. I recall getting really wound up over the first Obama election. After that, I had to swear off all politics for a while. I needed a detox. This summer I swore off Facebook. I have avoided logging in ever since. I was this close to deleting my account for the new year, but then realized you have to have a personal account in order to have a Facebook page for your blog. It has its uses, but I’m avoiding it for personal use. I had an identity crisis after turning 30 this past year. I started blogging soon after to track progress in personal hobbies. I hope you find what you are looking for and that you are internet rested and ready to enjoy your blogging hobby again. Hugs!

    • Janyaa says:

      It’s surprising how easy it’s been to let go of Facebook. I’m not saying my sabbatical is going to be permanent, but I haven’t really felt the urge to go back to it yet. I like that you’ve been blogging about your personal hobbies. I think I should take a page out of your book!

  2. kerri says:

    holy crapola! i wondered what was up. glad all is well and glad you are back. i did pop by your blog several times to make sure i wasn’t missing something. πŸ™‚

  3. Rawclyde! says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day, Janyaa! Hope you and your beloved do something special tomorrow ~ like, maybe, not go to work and sleep in. Ha ha!

    I’ve got a fresh new blog for you. I’ve decided to sway the American public in regards to the common-sense regulation of guns. Yepeee! Please drop by and enjoy my shenanigans when you get a chance…

    • Janyaa says:

      Thanks for the well wishes, Rawclyde! What a great idea for a blog. I have to admit I was utterly flabbergasted when I was watching the response from the NRA. And, just recently watched an article about the completely antiquated system of trying to track guns. I do believe in the right to bear arms, but that doesn’t mean we have to do it stupidly. Having a national registration, closing the gunshow loopholes, having a mandatory background check and wait list, and making sure mentally unstable people don’t have guns all seem like a common sense place to start.

  4. Welcome back. I noticed you had disappeared from Hugh Howey’s site. I am glad you are all right.

    • Janyaa says:

      Yeah, I’ve dropped down to lurker status for a bit. I think sometimes its easy to get caught up on all the boards and sites on the internet and lose sight of what’s actually going on in your own life. I’m trying to figure out a happy medium. πŸ˜€

  5. Rawclyde! says:

    C’mon Janyaa, get roused up. You know “political action” is where its at! Just teasing you. There’s nothing wrong with having a life ~ goodness!

Leave a Reply

