Hurricane Sandy

Well, Hurricane Sandy came and laid a wallop on the East Coast, huh? My heart goes out to all the people still dealing with the aftermath of the storm. Terry and I fared much better than in New York, New Jersey and parts of Connecticut. We are far enough North that we just experienced the far edges of the hurricane. It was still something to behold! The wind and rain were pretty impressive where we were. I can only imagine what it must have been like for people closer to the eye.

Our power did cut out on Monday afternoon, but I have to give the power company credit. They had it back on again Tuesday afternoon. Not having power did point out a funny little problem with our house, though. We have a detached garage with no door or access in except through the garage door. That’s right. The garage door that requires power to operate. Of course, you can’t open a garage door from the outside because that would completely negate the security of having a garage door in the first place. So, even though Tuesday morning ended up being clear and beautiful, I couldn’t get into the garage to get my car.

Unfortunately, my phone battery was dead, as well. So, I ended up walking 2 1/2 miles to the closest Starbucks so I could charge my phone and text my boss to let him know I wasn’t going to be able to go into work….at 5:45am. Altogether, not anything worth complaining about when you put it into perspective what others are having to go through. Particularly when there have been nearly a hundred people who have lost their lives.

Speaking of putting things into perspective, I was very relieved to hear that Mayor Bloomberg decided to (finally!) cancel the Marathon for Sunday. I thought it was unconscionable that he would consider holding that event in spite of all the pain and suffering that was still ongoing. Especially since the start of the race is on Staten Island and one of the most affected spots. He may have been slow on the uptake, but thankfully he ended up making the right decision.

At any rate, that’s all for now! Just wanted to write a quick little post letting people know how I fared during the storm and to send out my thoughts and best wishes to the people still recovering. Hope all my readers are safe and sound.

Leave a Reply

