The Great Wheel and The Chihuly Gardens and Glass

It’s been 7 years since I’ve lived in Seattle. As you can imagine, a lot has changed since that time. Most of the time, I’m able to visit once a year or so and it’s always fun to compare and contrast what has stayed the same and what’s different.

Two of the developments I really wanted to check out this year were The Seattle Great Wheel on the Waterfront and the Chihuly Gardens and Glass. I really lucked out with the weather this past visit. It was absolutely perfect every day I was there. The kind of warm, sunny, blue skies that Seattle works so hard keeping a secret from the rest of the world. Granted, there are probably only a couple of weeks like that every year…but when they come around, they’re absolutely breathtaking!

Needless to say, I took a TON of photos and I thought I’d share a few of them here. You can click on any of these to see a larger version, if you’d like.

This is the Great Wheel itself. You can see that the view was incredible. I’ve always loved the orange cranes along the waterfront. One of my favorite views of Seattle is when you’re driving North on the viaduct from West Seattle during sunset. The sky will be awash in pinks and oranges and golds and the water and skyline reflect their brilliance in the windows and waves. Driving over the bridge and up to the skyline, with the lights just starting to twinkle, it’s as if you’re seeing many layered sunsets at once. The Cascade Mountains are to your right, the Olympic Mountains to your left, and Mt. Rainier is pasted to the horizon in your rear view mirror. All while the orange cranes stand sentry towards the dying sun. It’s truly one of the most magnificent sights to behold.

I had a few free hours to spare on my last day in Seattle before driving down to Portland. A couple of my friends had gone to the relatively new Chihuly Gardens and Glass exhibit at the Pacific Center and highly recommended it. I’ve always admired Chihuly’s work. He has a museum down in Tacoma that’s pretty spectacular, so I figured I’d go check it out.

I really like how they set the whole show up. There were a number of rooms with various glass installations, but then they also had an outside garden path with glass throughout. The architecture perfectly complemented the Seattle Space Needle. Overall, well worth the $12 I spent to get in!

If you’d like to see more of the photos I took of The Chihuly Gardens and Glass, you can check out my Flickr gallery.

5 comments on “The Great Wheel and The Chihuly Gardens and Glass

  1. […] The Great Wheel and The Chihuly Gardens and Glass (janyaascrapbook.wordpress.com) […]

  2. gpicone says:

    Beautiful photos!

  3. huge says:

    Wonderful photographs and a brilliant description of your favourite view of Seattle. The Chihuly Gardens and Glass exhibit looks breathtaking! I’d definitely stretch to the $12 if they could throw in a flight from Manchester too…

    • Janyaa says:

      Thanks! I always feel inspired when I’m in Seattle.

      …also, it’s the airfare that gets you every time! Teleportation would be so much cheaper. 🙂

Leave a Reply

