Changing Things Up

You may have noticed that I’ve changed the site once again. I decided that I wanted to have a white background for my text. I was noticing that the white text on black background was difficult to see and read from some mobile devices.

This is probably the fourth time I’ve changed my template, and I can’t guarantee that things will stay this way. However, I’m liking this look for now. Please feel free to let me know what you think and whether you have any suggestions on how I can make things look better!

Another thing that people may notice is that I’ve moved all my book reviews to a separate blog, called Janyaa’s Book Nook. There is a new page that will take you to these posts, and I plan on adding any new readings to the other site.

My sister and a few other readers had mentioned the book reviews seemed a bit out of place with the rest of my posts…and I found that I agreed with them. So, I figured I would link the two blogs up, but let them maintain separate identities.

Reading has always been a major part of my life. Yes, I was the girl sitting in a quiet corner (or under a tree) with long stringy hair, glasses, and my nose in a book. Pretty much the quintessential stereotypical image.

I’ve always been a voracious and fast reader. In fact, when I was younger, I read Treasure Island in a single night! Unfortunately, my eyes probably couldn’t handle that kind of strain anymore.

There was one summer that my dad actually grounded me from books. Can you believe it?! Most kids I know get grounded from going out, watching tv, playing video games or talking on the phone, but not me.

It seems like I’m always hearing about how parents struggle with getting their kids to pick up a book, and here my dad was grounding me from reading! I used to hide them in the cabinets in the bathroom and then sneak off to read them on the sly. My dad must have thought I had extremely sensitive bowels that year.

I think the reason why I love reading so much is that it transports me into a completely different world. People can be talking to me, and I’ll be so fully immersed that I won’t even realize they’re speaking. It’s caused quite a lot of frustration for my family and husband on more than one occasion.

So, that’s pretty much it for today. I know I’ve been relatively quiet this past week, but plan on resuming my usual posting going forward. Sometimes, it’s nice to just take a break and let things stew for a bit.

2 comments on “Changing Things Up

  1. enpfhy says:

    I’ve felt the same way about my little book reviews mix in with my other thoughts or stories. I like your idea. Not gonna steal it, but I like it 😀 I do need to find a better way to organize my blog though (when I actually start putting more crap on it)

    • Janyaa says:

      Enphy, I wouldn’t consider it “stealing” my idea if you decided to split the reviews into a new blog. I’m sure I’m not the first (nor will I be the last.) I was just thinking the other day that I hadn’t read a post from you in a bit! Hope to read more soon. 😀

Leave a Reply

