Lazy Morning

I’ve called in to work sick and am lounging in my momentary freedom. Perhaps I should feel guilty. I’m not physically sick, just needing an emotional time out from the world. I’ve never been very good at living to work. Sometimes, it’s nice to just take a day to do nothing. I feel like life should have more of those days, to be honest. Too often, it feels like I’m on a rat wheel; spinning and spinning and not getting anywhere.

It’s one of those mornings where I don’t want to poke my head out of the covers. I can hear the world dripping and pattering with the rain coming down. It’s the fourth day of rain and the whole world is wrapped up in a gray cloud.

That’s ok. I like it. It reminds me of my years in Seattle where the overcast sky starts to feel like one big snuggly blanket and all you need is a brimmed hat, a warm cup of coffee and a good book.

Speaking of coffee, the allure of a cup is too tempting. After snoozing for a little longer, I decide it’s time to drag myself out of bed. As the coffee starts to brew, I scrounge through my refrigerator and come up with a plan for breakfast. Nothing too fancy, a couple of fried eggs, some potatoes and strips of bacon. Is there anything more homey than the smell of bacon and coffee in the morning?

The maker starts to gurgle and pop. The coffee maker coming to the end of it’s run always makes a sound that reminds me of a firework display’s grand finale. It’s like a little person cheering and say, “Hooray! The coffee’s almost done! Hooray!”

It never fails to make me smile.

I plate up breakfast and head over to the couch to slab out and watch bad tv. Maybe I’ll try to finish that book I’m reading. Maybe I’ll do a bit of writing…

3 comments on “Lazy Morning

  1. kerri says:

    OOOOHHHH! i am so jealous! i love having days off work, but then when i go back, everything is so crazy i wonder if it was worth it. what did you end up doing? your breffie sound amazing, by the way.

    • Janyaa says:

      I basically just lounged around the house, watched TV and read my book. It was exactly what I needed!

      I love how you call it breffie. Sounds so cute! Actually, I’m not the cook in this house. That honor goes to my hubby. But, I can usually throw something together that’s decent, if not creatively gourmet. 🙂

      • kerri says:

        ugh, again i’m jealous. if i could get my hubby to “cook” something more than a frozen pizza or chicken nuggets and tator tots i’d be so excited. but he does grill sometimes. and he does do the laundry. so i guess i’ll keep him.
        i’m sure your creative gourmet meals are very tasty!!

Leave a Reply

